Local Government

The City of Elizabeth City

The City of Elizabeth City operates under the council-manager form of government. A Mayor and the City Council comprise the governing body of the City of Elizabeth City and appoint a City Manager who is responsible for the administration of all departments.

The City Council is composed of eight members who serve terms of two years. All qualified voters of the City, voting at large, elect the Mayor for a two-year term. The Mayor serves as the official head of the City’s government and presides at all meetings of the Council. The Mayor votes only when there is an equal division of Council Members on a given matter.

Pasquotank County

Pasquotank County is governed by a Board of Commissioners consisting of seven members who are elected to serve four-year terms. Four of the Commissioners are elected from districts, and three are elected at large. The county manager is appointed by the Board of County Commissioners and is responsible for day-to-day operations of Pasquotank County.